Posted in 2015

World After (Penryn & The End of Days #2) by Susan Ee


12983100

World After (Penryn & The End of Days #2) by Susan Ee

Published by Skyscape (November 19, 2013)

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?

How I Feel About It: 

damon

First off: The synopsis is misleading. Yes, that stuff happens but the part about Raffe made me think we were going to see his POV while this is going on. We don’t. Also, it seems like Penryn will be alone looking for Paige. She’s not. They should have used something else for the synopsis.

World After went in a direction that I wasn’t expecting. I was so extremely excited to read this sequel (check out my review of Angelfall #1 here) and now I’m honestly not sure how I’m feeling about it. I’m a weird whirlwind of random emotions.

What I Loved: 

Raffe. His character was consistent as the first book even though we didn’t see much of him. If you’re hoping to read this and be instantly satisfied with their reunion, I hate to be the one to tell you that it doesn’t happen until page 240. It sort of happens at 225 (don’t want to give spoilers), but not really until 240. We get a few snippets of him here-and-there that are very intriguing which make the wait worthwhile.

Pooky Bear. This is the name that Penryn gives the archangel sword. She meant it as a joke, but Raffe warned her that names have power. Therefore, Pooky Bear she became. I love that Ee gave an inanimate object feelings and ‘thoughts’. Very cool and definitely different.

The self-defense. I know I said it with the Angelfall, but I’m still saying it. It’s super-awesome that Penryn can defend herself and Ee explains the defense moves. Just shows that it doesn’t matter how small or strong you are, you can protect yourself with the correct training.

Clara. She has a small part in Angelfall and an even bigger role in World After. I love how her storyline got wrapped up and all the help she gave Penryn in-between.

What I Didn’t Love: 

Penryn. I know she’s our heroine but I felt like in this book she was very wishy-washy. In Angelfall she had a clear view of what she wanted and it didn’t matter who or what was in her way. In World After, I felt as though she was persuaded by others easily into doing things that she might not want to do but what everyone thinks she should do. Penryn’s inner dialogue is still in full-swing in book #2 but for some reason she just seemed off. There were times I felt like she was being the ‘hero’ just for the sake of being the hero.

Beliel – and not for the reasons you would think. Trying to not have spoilers, but, there is a scene in which we see Beliel right after he cuts off Raffe’s wings in Angelfall. In this scene, he talks about being lonely and abandoned which makes him more appealing to the person he’s talking to. Now, I’m not sure if it was all an act on his part, but later in the book Penryn touches back to what he said and realizes it might have been true. I wish Ee would have given us some background on WHY Beliel felt that way. I know he’s supposed to be the bad-guy and we aren’t ever supposed to feel sorry or relate to him, but it would be really nice to know the reasons behind his madness.

All in All:

World After might have succumbed to that “sequel slump” that we all dread. I still think this book was very well-written and moved the story along, but that’s all that I felt it was: Moving the story along. I still have high-hopes for book #3 End of Days, which will not be released until May this year. We learned some interesting new twists with the scorpion creatures that will definitely catapult book #3 into more action like we are used to in AngelfallWorld After left off in a nice stopping point and hopefully these beloved characters get their act together for the finale.

Until next time! ❤

Tara

Talk to me!

