Posted in 2015

In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds #3) by Alexandra Bracken


16150831

In The Afterlight (The Darkest Minds #3) by Alexandra Bracken

Published by Disney-Hyperion (October 28, 2014)

Ruby can’t look back. Fractured by an unbearable loss, she and the kids who survived the government’s attack on Los Angeles travel north to regroup. With them is a prisoner: Clancy Gray, son of the president, and one of the few people Ruby has encountered with abilities like hers. Only Ruby has any power over him, and just one slip could lead to Clancy wreaking havoc on their minds.

They are armed only with a volatile secret: proof of a government conspiracy to cover up the real cause of IAAN, the disease that has killed most of America’s children and left Ruby and others like her with powers the government will kill to keep contained. But internal strife may destroy their only chance to free the “rehabilitation camps” housing thousands of other Psi kids.

Meanwhile, reunited with Liam, the boy she would-and did-sacrifice everything for to keep alive, Ruby must face the painful repercussions of having tampered with his memories of her. She turns to Cole, his older brother, to provide the intense training she knows she will need to take down Gray and the government. But Cole has demons of his own, and one fatal mistake may be the spark that sets the world on fire.

How I Feel About It:

partners-emotions

I am completely and utterly impressed with this entire series. The pacing was perfectly executed and never wavered in any of the books. The world Alexandra Bracken created was realistic and exciting. I am extremely satisfied with In The Afterlight and I want to cry because it’s over. I’m an emotional wreck over this one.

What I Loved:

Cole. Cole is.. serious. And strong. He’s the epitome of an older brother. He’s protective and honest, and I absolutely LOVE that we did not have a love-triangle with him, Ruby, and Liam. I was a little worried at first, but the more it went on the more adamant Ruby was that she did not feel that way. Thank you, Alexandra.

Ruby. Still! More growth and more bad-assery!

Pretty much all of the main and supporting characters. I have never read a series where I liked ALL of the characters and could relate to each of them in some way. It’s truly amazing how much thought went into each character. Alexandra Bracken never crosses over their voices. You wouldn’t have to be told who said what in this story because their voices are so defined you just know.

The science behind the disease. It was simple. The concept was easy to follow and I wasn’t confused by big, unnecessary words.

Chubs. And Vida. ❤

What I Didn’t Love:

The emotional roller-coaster between Ruby and Liam. I understand why it was necessary, but sometimes I just wanted to shake Ruby so bad. (This is just me being annoyed with the character – absolutely nothing wrong with the plot on this one).

Ruby’s parents. I realize they are awkward and unsure but once the truth came out there is no way in Hell I’d be letting Ruby go run off on her own with her friends in the end. I’d be wrapping myself around her and never letting her go. Just seemed very easy for wise Grandma to let her have her freedom.

All in All: 

This series is breathtaking. I have a special bookcase where certain books that I deem amazing and re-readable go, and I put all three on there as soon as I finished. I couldn’t be happier with the entire series if I tried. In The Afterlight did NOT disappoint. Please, please, please, read this story. I’m seriously hoping they make this one a movie.

Tara

Talk to me!

