Posted in 2015

Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan


18309803

Unmade

Sarah Rees Brennan

Published September 23rd 2014 by Random House Books for Young Readers

384 Pages

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble 

Synopsis:

A modern, magical twist on the Gothic romance and girl detective genres, the Lynburn Legacy books will appeal to fans of both Beautiful Creaturesand the Mortal Instruments series.

Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice?

Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied to a boy she does not, and faces an enemy more powerful than ever before. With Jared missing for months and presumed dead, Kami must rely on her new magical link with Ash for the strength to face the evil spreading through her town.

Rob Lynburn is now the master of Sorry-in-the-Vale, and he demands a death. Kami will use every tool at her disposal to stop him. Together with Rusty, Angela, and Holly, she uncovers a secret that might be the key to saving the town. But with knowledge comes responsibility—and a painful choice. A choice that will risk not only Kami’s life, but also the lives of those she loves most.

As coauthor with Cassandra Clare of the bestselling Bane Chronicles, Sarah Rees Brennan has mastered the art of the page-turner. This final book in the Lynburn Legacy is a wild, entertaining ride from beginning to shocking end.

My Thoughts: 

Considering this is the last book in this trilogy, I won’t be going in to great detail about the story because everything is a spoiler.  To read my review on the first book Unspoken click here, and the review for the sequel Untold click here.

This review took me forever to write, why? Because Sarah Rees Brennan completely broke me, I mean she literally BROKE me! I finished this book and literally didn’t know what to do, I was happy but so freaking heartbroken.

I went into this already with a shattered heart after that horrible cliffhanger in Untold. I was worried, I didn’t know what to expect and desperately hoping I would get some closure within the first chapter, but no such luck! With every passing chapter I was getting more and more worried. I eventually got the closure I wanted, but it was short lived and then I spent the rest of the book in a state of perpetual worry & sadness. Somehow through all the darkness Unmade was still funny and fun to read, that’s what I enjoyed about it the most. This trilogy dark especially this one, and Sarah was still able to make it pretty damn funny.

I loved the character arcs in this trilogy. All the characters grew and changed so much and I loved it. Kami is still the Kami we met in the first book, but she’s not naïve anymore and she is willing to fight to protect her family friends. The characters with the most growth in this trilogy were Jared and Ash. The Jared I saw within those last couple of pages was absolutely different than the Jared I was first introduced too. I pitied Ash in Untold, being inside of his head and truly understanding his character made me pity him. In Unmade, he’s trying and that made me love him. I didn’t pity him anymore and I ended up rooting for him, if he were to get his own series I would read it in a heartbeat. I loved Lillian and Jon’s relationship! They are absolutely great together. They are both incredibly strong characters, who a willing to fight for their family no matter what and I loved that about them.

I loved how all the storylines wrapped up in the end. They weren’t all happy, and some were left open, but I loved it because it felt real. Sarah’s writing and world building was absolutely spectacular, and I think this world she created was perfect.  I never knew what she was going to do, and she always kept me guessing, she made me laugh, she made me cry, and she made me throw this book across the room. Overall, it was a great series with a fantastic end. I recommend to all!

Favorite Quote:

“Lucky for you, I have another scheme. First I need a hundred ducks, but after that it will be pretty simple.”
“What do you need the ducks for?”
“I’m going to put a whole bunch of them in a giant catapult and launch them over Aurimere,” Kami said. “This will create a distraction. My message will be: Look at all the ducks I give.”

 5-stars

sam

Talk to me!

