ARC Review: Nightborn (Thrones & Bones #2) by Lou Anders


Nightborn:Throne & Bones 223395648

by Lou Anders

Expected Publication: July 14, 2015 by Crown Books for Young Readers

352 Pages

ARC was given by the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

Blurb:

From the author of “Frostborn” comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull.
Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. “Not” a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.
Meet Desstra. She’s in training to join the Underhand–the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.
Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?
The novel includes instructions for playing the board game Charioteers. Visit ThronesandBones.com for additional games, maps, character profiles, and more!

My Thoughts:

So normally, I am not a big fan of middle grade reads. I have tried and tried reading them in the past and to no avail, I have not been able to finish them! This book has become my exception to that rule! If you enjoy high fantasy, then you should probably pick up this series.

I had not read the first book and went into this completely blind! I must admit that although there were a few times that I seemed to get confused, I was able to follow the book through for the most part which made me VERY happy!!

I loved every second of it! This book had all kinds of different creatures from humans to elves, from dragons to giants! This book has it all!

My favorite character was Karn! I liked his love of games and enjoyed the way he was able to piece together the riddle! (oops! That may have been a small spoiler)

My other favorite part of the book is that they actually teach you at the end how to actually play the game of Charioteers! They give you the rules and explain the object of the game. I thought this was a REALLY cool special touch on the authors part.

All in all, I am glad that I received this book for review and I am hoping that there might be another book to this fine series!

4_star_rating

Heather

Advertisements

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s