Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell


Fangirl by Rainbow Rowellfangirl

Published by St. Martins Press on September 10, 2013

445 Pages

Received from publisher in exchange of an honest review.

Blurb:

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

My Thoughts:

I cannot express enough the feels that I have for this book! This was my second book that I had read by Ms. Rowell and I must say that the second time was a charm! I was not a big fan of Eleanor & Park and decided to give this author another whirl. I am so glad that I did!

The Characters….

I really enjoyed Cath even though she was a tad bit quirky. She loved her fan fic and the fact that she wrote her own was amazing to me! I also REALLY enjoyed Levi! He was so adorable but he definitely did not have a problem being open and honest with Cath which I adored! I also liked the fact that the author did not have these two be a part of inst-love. They slowly became friends and fell in love. It was kinda beautiful:)

The Sisterhood….

I was not a fan of Wren. I just felt that she was really being selfish by not telling Cath what she was feeling or that she needed a separation from her twin and become her own person. I felt that if she would have spoken to Cath from the beginning, their relationship probably would not have been so strained. I did enjoy the girls at the end when they finally came together and actually acted that they liked each other. It seemed very real to me and it made me think of my own relationships with my siblings.

Tear Jerker….

The times when Cath had thought about her Dad or had visited him and had a tough time going back to school. The writer was able to convey the emotions from Cath when she was home sick or nervous for her father’s well-being.

The Ending…

The ending of this book was great and it actually put a smile on my face and left a sigh from my lips.

PERFECT!!

“I feel sorry for you, and I’m going to be your friend.”
“I don’t want to be your friend,” Cath said as sternly as she could. “I like that we’re not friends.”
“Me, too. I’m sorry you ruined it by being so pathetic.”
Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

5 star rating

Heather

Talk to me!

