Review: Morning Glories by Nick Spencer


10088114

Morning Glories

Nick Spencer & Joe Eisma

Published March 2nd 2011 by Image Comic

188 pages

Synopsis:

Morning Glory Academy

One of the most prestigious prep schools in the country…But behind it’s hallowed doors something sinister and deadly lurks. When six brilliant but troubled new students arrive, they find themselves trapped and desperately seeking answers…and escape from a place where nothing is what it seems to be!

My Thoughts:

This book has been an obsession of mine. Even before I bought it or even read a page I was obsessed. I wanted to hear what people thought  about it, I wanted to know what about the story intrigued them or turned them off completely. Before jumping  into this, I read/watched so many reviews and from what I gathered with this series, this volume in particular it’s either you hate it or love it. And the reason why so many dislike it is because they want answers and you’re definitely not going to get any answers in this volume.

You can’t go into this trade thinking you’re going to get answers, tons of backstory, and explanations. It’s not like other graphic novels where each trade is a complete story arc, the creators of this series have said that this story is more like a show in the sense that it’s split up in seasons. Each season consists of 25 issues season one is completed, and as of right now season 2 is ongoing. That being said, if you want answers to this seriously complicated series you have to be in it for the long haul.

What I liked:

The Storyline: I loved the storyline! I can’t really describe the storyline because then I would have to explain things and I can’t explain things because I don’t know what it means yet and I really love that! I love that it’s a slow burn and that I don’t know what’s really going on. It keeps me on the edge of seat and makes want to never stop reading. I do have to say that the storyline is pretty dark, a lot darker than what I are expecting but I’m loving it, I love the fact that I went into this story expecting something completely different from what I got. Also the artwork is fantastic! The artwork is vibrant and colorful which I feel goes perfectly with the storyline that is dark and sometimes gruesome.

The Characters: in this trade we focus on six characters, these six teenagers are all totally and completely different except for the fact that they are all special snowflakes that just so happen to have the same birthday.  I loved every single one of them some more than others but, I still loved them none the less. The characters that intrigued me the most are Casey and Jun. Casey because she is so strong and diligent and already so freaking loyal. Jun intrigues me because he’s an enigma, I have absolutely no idea what is going on with him but I’m super excited to see what happens next with him. My two absolute favorite characters are Zoey and Ike! They are both pretty similar, they’re both snarky and all about themselves and doing what benefits them though I expect that particular trait to change as the series goes on. Ike’s opening scene was my favorite scene in the whole book!

The Writing: I loved the writing in this book! Nick Spencer did a great job of moving the story in a quick pace and giving us a lot of information but leaving so much more to be desired. I loved the multiple POVs and the great use of flashbacks. I also enjoyed how he could portray the Academy to be such a light and genuinely good school, but there would always be a dark and sinister undertone.

What I didn’t like:

Honestly there is nothing about this book that I didn’t like, it’s just  a fun and entertaining ride. The only things I didn’t like were character flaws. Like some characters being too trusting and others coming across as trusting but then betraying everyone else (though I really should’ve seen it coming)

Overall:

I recommend this book to anybody who wants a nice slow burn plot about a boarding school, filled with great characters and sinister plots and quite possibly some supernatural twists

5 star rating

Sam2

Talk to me!

