Review: The White Rose by Amy Ewing


the white roseThe White Rose by Amy Ewing

To Be Published on October 6, 2015 by HarperTeen

320 Pages

ARC given in exchange of an honest review.

Violet is on the run. After the Duchess of the Lake catches Violet with Ash, the hired companion at the Palace of the Lake, Violet has no choice but to escape the Jewel or face certain death. So along with Ash and her best friend, Raven, Violet runs away from her unbearable life of servitude.

But no one said leaving the Jewel would be easy. As they make their way through the circles of the Lone City, Regimentals track their every move, and the trio barely manages to make it out unscathed and into the safe haven they were promised—a mysterious house in the Farm.

But there’s a rebellion brewing, and Violet has found herself in the middle of it. Alongside a new ally, Violet discovers her Auguries are much more powerful than she ever imagined. But is she strong enough to rise up against the Jewel and everything she has ever known?

The White Rose is a raw, captivating sequel to The Jewel that fans won’t be able to put down until the final shocking moments.

My Review

I really enjoyed the first book in this series, it was a “cannot put down” for me. This sequel did not disappoint and quickly became another “could not put down”! I was nervous going in because sometimes the sequel is not as good as the first book but this was not the case with this one! I did have to really read carefully though in the beginning to get back into the swing of the characters because I had forgotten some things that happened in the first book but I was quickly able to adapt and really enjoy this read!

We get to meet some new characters in this installment but have to say goodbye to some of the old:( We also get to see a few people from the VERY beginning of the series during the auction.

I cannot say if I have a favorite character. I kind of enjoy the mix of all of them together honestly. I really had just gotten lost in the story and had not concentrated on each character individually.

This book left us on ANOTHER cliffhanger and I am UNpatiently waiting for the next book. Seriously, I may have thrown a slight temper tantrum. Ms. Ewing seems to have a knack for leaving us hanging. (secretly, I love it!)

5 star rating

Talk to me!

