Posted in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday:  Ten Books To Read If You Like Sarah Dessen


top ten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is the top ten books to read if you like Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen’s books are light, fluffy , fun, perfect for summer reads that are also about family, friendship, self discovery, and social issues. So Here are ten books to try if you are a fan of Sarah Dessen Books:

1. Back When You Were Easier to Love by Emily Wing Smith
This book is one of the cutest books I’ve ever read! This one is about a girl who was just dumped by her boyfriend and gets the idea to take a road trip to his college to convince him to take her back, and the Ex-boyfriend’s best friend decides to tag along! It’s a cute, quirky book perfect for Sarah Dessen Fans.

2. The Bridge From Me to You by Lisa Schroeder
Initially when I picked this book up I thought it was going to be a sweet, fluffy read and it’s not. While it is a sweet book, it’s so much more than that. The Bridge From Me to You is about family, friendship, and doing what makes you happy. This one reminds me of Someone Like you By Sarah Dessen, as it features a strong friendship and self discovery.

3. The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott
First I have to say, IF YOU LIKE SARAH DESSEN, READ ELIZABETH SCOTT’S BOOKS! The Unwritten Rule is about a girl who has a crush on her best friends boyfriend. This book is more on the serious side, it isn’t sweet and fluffy but it does have its moments. The Unwritten Rule is about Love, friendship, and growing up.

4. The Hundred Oaks series by Miranda Kenneally
I couldn’t pick just one book in this series so I picked them all! This is a series of stand alone books set in the same world, much like Dessen’s books. They all are sweet and fluffy, but also focus on more serious issues they are perfect for a fun, quick read!

5. There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones
This is one of my all time favorite books! So many layers to this one! This one reminds me a tad of Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. This one is about a girl who has just lost her brother and is trying to find herself and come to terms with her loss. This one is a great self discovery read, and watching this girl heal was a fascinating!

6. Paradise by Simone Elkelles
This a great contemporary read that focuses on self discovery and healing, and the consequences of the choices we make.

7. Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
Maureen Johnson is also a really great contemporary writer, her books are perfect for Sarah Dessen Fans! Suite Scarlett is hands down the sweetest and cutest book on this list! Its sweet, fluffy, and funny the perfect books for a Summer afternoon!

8. Dizzy by Nyrae Dawn
This one is about love, family, and friendship. When it wasn’t making me laugh, it was making me want to curl up in a ball and just cry for awhile. Just READ IT!

9. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
When I think of this book it reminds me of Along for the Ride, I don’t know why. In my eyes Auden and Amy are quite similar, Just as Eli is to Roger.

10. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry
This is a super light, fluffy, fun read. It’s serious and heartbreaking. I think if you liked Lock and Key, you would enjoy this one.

Sam2

Advertisements

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s