Blog Tour: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum


tell me three thingsTell Me Three Things

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

My Review

Hello! First off we MUST discuss this cover! Can you say adorable?? I just love the simplicity of it and what it means to the story itself. Genius! If I saw this book sitting on a shelf in a book store, I definitely would pick it up as an automatic cover buy.

Secondly, the story itself was fantastic:) It has been a little while since I had read a really good contemporary that actually gripped me from the beginning until the end. I finished the book in one sitting and actually really enjoyed the mystery aspect of it also.

I enjoyed the character of Jessie and could picture us actually being friends. She was smart and snarky, exactly how I like my female characters in books! She didn’t sit around feeling all kinds of sorry for herself over the death of her mother but actually took the bull by the horns and tried to make a new start.

I have to say that my favorite part of the book has got to be the email banter between Jessie and her mystery man. It was very cute and made me long for a mystery pen pal of my very own! (anyone out there whom feels the need to make me feel better……you got my email addy)

My only one issue with the book was that the ending was fairly predictable. I had an idea of how it was going to end by the time that I made it there but, it was still a very enjoyable read.

Congrats to Ms. Buxbaum on her debut YA novel and I will be very sure to keep a watch out for more from her in the future!

Follow Julie Buxbaum at the following links:

Website  http://www.juliebuxbaum.com/julie

Twitter https://twitter.com/juliebux

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JulieBuxbaumNovelist

Blog http://www.juliebuxbaum.com/blog/

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/843820.Julie_Buxbaum

 

4_star_rating

Heather

Advertisements

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s