Discussion Post: Cover Buys!


7600924Today I wanted to do something a little different. I haven’t really posted many discussion posts and I am curious to get your thoughts on some things that have been on my mind.

I know that they say to never judge a book by its cover which is very hard to do if you are a book lover! A lot of times, the cover is what draws my eye to the book itself. There have also been times that I can tell what type of contents are in the book just by looking at the cover.Obviously, if there is a 7823698man/woman together on the cover, it will be a romance book but…sometimes, even that can be deceiving.

I, personally love books with bright, eye-catching covers. Those are the ones that I am most drawn to and most likely will purchase since they look so pretty on my shelf! Sometimes, the covers have nothing even to do with the story and I will find myself agonizing over what the meaning of the cover is and why they have chosen that particular one for the book. 10429917I also find myself looking on the cover and trying to decipher which character is whom and deciding if they actually look like the character that I have in my head?

These are some of the prettier covers of books that I have read. Some of them I own and some of them I have read on my kindle but the covers are what have really drawn me to each of them. Some were a 13482832DNF and others, I absolutely adored.

Whenever I go into the book store, I try my best to not reach for the books that in my opinion have the “pretty” covers but I ALWAYS DO! AND…I sometimes feel like I might be missing some really good books because I tend to only pick up books that I am attracted to the cover to actually check 23361172out the blurb and see if it is something that I am interested in? I think this is just how my brain works?

I know that I cannot be the only person with some of these issues!?!? Do you tend to judge a book by its cover? What are some of your favorite covers?

 

XOXO,

Heather

2 comments

  1. I don’t only judge by the cover, but if you haven’t heard of a book and see it in a bookshop, then of course it’s the first impression. One that springs to mind is The Versions of Us – I just had to have it! Then I have recently finished the Throne of Glass series, which I was seriously put off reading for so long because of the covers, yet I loved it.

    Like

    • I had t run to check out the cover of The Versions of Us and yes! It is really pretty:) I completely hear you on Throne of Glass, those covers are very off-putting but the story is GREAT!!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

