The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag!


Hi Everyone! *waves frantically*

I saw this tag from Kayla over at kdrewkthebookworm and wanted to take part.(you guys need to go over and follow her! She is all kinds of awesome!)  I was not tagged by anyone but….I may be sneaky and tag a few others. So just kick back, grab a drink (I prefer ice tea) and relax as you get a little bit inside the head of me…Muahahaha! (just kidding)

 

1. How long have you been a blogger for?

I’ve been blogging for about 5 1/2 years!!! WOW!! I cannot believe that it has been that Heatherlong! I started in January of 2011 and if you go back and look at some of my old reviews…they are utterly frightening! I had no idea of what I was doing and just decided to wing it!

2. At what point do you think you will stop?

I have no plans on stopping at any time in the near future?? I hope that I continue to blog until I am a decrepit 80 year old lady.

3. What is the best part?

Sharing your passion with others! I love when someone leaves me a comment that they agree or even disagree because I love to chat about my love for books!!! Especially YA books! I really do not have someone to fangirl with. My daughter reads YA but she is more a contemporary reader while I love me some Fantasy/Dystopian/ZOMBIES, so we usually read different books!

4. What is the worst part?

thumbnail_FullSizeRenderHmmm, tough question!!! I would say the huge TBR!!! It is very easy to get overwhelmed by an enormous TBR! As you can see, this is my current situation and this does not include ebooks! Very quickly those review books add up and although you are sooo excited to have an ARC and this book is suppose to be the next best thing, you find yourself wishing that you could just read a book for fun…one that you were dying to read last year and just didn’t get to yet. (sorry for the ramble!!) This leads to burn out, which I have gone through several times over the course of the past 5 years. Every once in a while, I take a majorly needed hiatus and clean out my TBR, get rid of the old to prepare for the new, take a blogging break and focus on getting back on track!

5. Who’s your book crush?

Oh boy! Do you have a couple of days for me to list them all?? I would have to say that my BD Quoteinitial thought and this character has ALWAYS been my favorite……Travis Maddox from Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire! I have read that book at least 5 times and it never gets old for me! AND….I was quoted on the first edition! I am very proud of that! (and yes, I do own a copy of said edition! Someday, I will meet Jaime and said edition will get signed!)

6. What author would you like to have on your blog?

My favorite author of all time is Jennifer L. Armentrout. I have met her in person and I was able to interview her for my youtube channel. (if you haven’t seen it, head on over to youtube and check it out) but….I would love to have Colleen Hoover or Leigh Bardugo or even Cassandra Clare on the blog. That would be pure awesomesauce!!

7. What do you wear when you write your blog?

nightlyreading-6.jpgVery interesting question…I am sure you are all just dying to know the answer…CLOTHES you perv!!! Of course I wear clothes!!! LOL, what kind of blog do you think this is?

8. How long does it take you to prepare a post?

I can usually knock them out quickly unless there are a lot of graphics or links that I have to add, those take a bit longer.

9. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I love that everyone is just so friendly and open! I feel like I have a ton of friends and have h.leemet some amazing people since blogging. There are some bad apples out there, those that like to take advantage but that happens everywhere no matter what your hobby.

10. What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Be Yourself!!! Try not to be like everyone else. Pick your own thing that makes you unique and go with it! It doesn’t matter about your following, what matters is your content. AND lastly….the most important of all……

HAVE FUN!!!!

So, I think I am going to just choose one person to tag, this person is the very first friend that I made way back when in 2011 after I had just started out. She was just starting also and we hit it off right out of the gate. She is still blogging too and even though we have never met and rarely chat, she has helped me quite a bit over the past 5 years with lots of advice when things got a little out of hand…. that person is:

Kayleigh from K-Books!!!

You guys should really check out her blog. She has amazing and thoughtful reviews and she is the sweetest!

Thanks for listening to my ramblings. Let me know your thoughts….Do you have a blog? Link up in the comments so that we can check out yours!

Heather

Talk to me!

