Posted in 2016, August

Book Discussion: Do you take on the feels after reading a book?


Hi everyone!!!

This subject has been on my mind for a while now and I just had to ask all of you to see what your thoughts are….

I have found that when I am reading a book, I always take on the feelings that the main character has in the book. For example…while on vacation I was reading Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris (read my review HERE) which is basically about spousal abuse, I found myself shying away from my husband and being fearful of him which I absolutely have no reason to!!! On the other hand when I read something fantasy with a kick ass female heroine like Throne of Glass by Sara J Maas (see my review HERE), I find myself being ready to take on the world like Celaena Sardothien! I am able to kick anyone’s ass that gets in my way!!! OR for another example…I also found myself being really snarky and quick-witted while reading Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series just like Katy! (see all my reviews for JLA HERE) Why does this happen??

sobbing photo: need a moment Santana tumblr_m0q39deL7E1qafah9o1_400.gif

Here is my theory…

When I read a book, I personally take on the role of the main character. Now I am not sure if everyone does this but this is something that I have always done. I completely immerse myself into that character’s world and tend to take on all of their feelings. I have been shocked, surprised, brought to tears and laughed out loud many of times. Sometimes I even talk to the characters as if I am right there! There was one series in particular that I cried when the series was over:-( I literally lived in their world every time that I read another book and wanted them to last forever. That series was told by many POV’s but I felt like I was there with them and included in all of their shenanigans! The series that I speak of is The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine…best vampire series ever!! If you have not read them…you really should! Be forewarned though…the series is vast!(read all my reviews HERE)

hysterical photo: Kelly - Hysterical kellylaughing.gif
So I ask you…Do you feel the same? Do you get so caught up in the book that you take the feels with you into real life? Is this normal or do I have some super power?? Let me know! I would love to hear your thoughts!

telekinesis photo: Telekinesis Fire Ball. TelekinesisFireBall.gif

XOXO,

Heather

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

2 thoughts on “Book Discussion: Do you take on the feels after reading a book?

Talk to me!

