Playlist, Review & Giveaway: The Summer Before Forever by Melissa Chambers


Review

The Summer Before Forever (Before Forever, #1)The Summer Before Forever by Melissa Chambers

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ugh! All the feels!!!

So, you all know that I kind of gravitate towards books that are taboo. This one is advertised as a contemporary about star-crossed love, which it definitely held true. These two characters tried all that they could to NOT show their inner feelings for each other and not react to them. I felt really bad for that since I did not think it would be so bad for them to be together. I mean they were not blood relatives? Am I right?

Right off the bat, I kinda have to swoon over Landon!!! He was such a gentlemen and I fell head over heels in love straight away!! He tried so hard to stay away but he just couldn’t and when you get stuck by the love bug….there is no holding back no matter whom the love of your life is!

I loved Chloe too but I have to say that I really enjoyed her BFF, Jenna, so much more!!! Jenna is snarky and assertive. She is not afraid to go after what she wants and secretly, I think that I would love to have an ounce of Jenna in myself. I am more like a shy Chloe trying to break free of my shell.

I enjoyed the list that Jenna had created for Chloe. I thought that the whole book would be more centered around said list but it was more about Chloe finding herself and the turmoil that had been created from a horrible incident that had happened to her.

Overall, I give the book a huge “thumbs up”! With the dual POV’s from Chloe and Landon, the reader is given full insight into both characters. A great beach read! I will definitely be reading more from this author!!! AND…..this looks like it is only the first book in a series:)

View all my reviews

Read Chapter One HERE!

blog divider line

Chloe Stone’s Summer Playlist

There is nothing Chloe Stone from The Summer Before Forever loves more than sharing her favorite music. She’s fairly open to most kinds of music, but she tends toward alt rock. Her best friend, Jenna, is a total pop princess, so the two of them battle it out pretty frequently to get their songs heard, but they also can’t help falling a little in love with some of each other’s music in the process.

Summertime is the best possible time to soak in some fantastic tunes. The sun warming your skin…the smell of freshly cut grass or salty ocean air if you’re lucky enough to be by the beach. I love to sit on my back patio with my feet kicked up on a warm summer night and get lost in the music.

Here’s a special summer playlist Chloe put together for you. Some of the songs have a specific summer theme, while others have that easy summer feel or that happy, fun vibe that makes you want to dance around your backyard barefoot with the grass between your toes. Others may have you rolling down your window in the passenger seat of your best friend’s car and letting the wind whip through your hair while you sing along at full volume.

So grab your earbuds and your favorite cold drink, sit back, and take in Chloe’s songs of summer.

The Wombats “The English Summer”

Catfish and the Bottlemen “Soundcheck”

Viola Beach “Swings and Waterslides”

Saint Motel “Move”

DMA’s “Lay Down”

The War on Drugs “Red Eyes”

Japandroids “Younger Us”

Circa Waves “T-shirt Weather”

Kasabian “bumblebeee”

Kings of Leon “Beach Side”

OK Go “Upside Down & Inside Out”

Beach Slang “Too Late to Die Young”

Wolf Alice “Freazy”

Elvis Costello and the Attractions “The Other Side of Summer”

Joywave “Now”

Hear this playlist on Spotify

blog divider line

About Melissa Chambers

Melissa Chambers writes contemporary novels for young, new, and actual adults. A Nashville native, she spends her days working in the music industry and her nights Melissa_croppedtapping away at her keyboard. While she’s slightly obsessed with alt rock, she leaves the guitar playing to her husband and kid. She never misses a chance to play a tennis match, listen to an audiobook, or eat a bowl of ice cream. (Rocky road, please!) The Summer Before Forever is her debut YA novel.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads |  Instagram | Amazon Author Page

blog divider line

Giveaway

amazon button

$25 Amazon Giftcard

a Rafflecopter giveaway

A big thanks to Entangled Teen & Melissa Chambers for hosting today!

XOXO,

Heather

 

6 comments

    • Hi Mary,

      Thanks for following. I never have a “favorite” song either. But I do listen to a lot of music. You must spend most of your time reading, which is what I am doing when not listening to music:-)

      Like

Talk to me!

