Books I’m Thankful For!


Considering that today is Thanksgiving, I decided I would share the books I’m thankful for! The six books that I chose have really touched me and have stuck with me long after I finished reading them, and I included my favorite quotes from them. Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

A Mouthful of Forevers – This book was so relatable and honest it blew my mind. I think about this collection so often, and I quote it, it’s amazing!

Fav Quote: I will love you when you are a still day. I will love you when you are a hurricane.”

Giovanni’s Room – I could go on and on about why I love this book and why I’m so thankful for it, but I can’t. I would spoil the whole entire thing for you, so I’m going to put in the quote that touched my heart and made cry.

Fav Quote: “Somebody,” said Jacques, “your father or mine, should have told us that not many people have ever died of love. But multitudes have perished, and are perishing every hour – and in the oddest places! – for the lack of it.”

Salt –  It was everything I needed to hear, without even knowing I needed to hear it. This book is basically my heart laid bare.

Fav Quote: in our own ways we all break. it is okay to hold your heart outside of your body for days. months. years. at a time. – heal

The Kite Runner – I read this one in high school, it is such an amazing book! Honestly I read it four years ago and I always think about it. It was amazingly written book, about immigration, war, culture, family and friendship!

Fav Quote: “It may be unfair, but what happens in a few days, sometimes even a single day, can change the course of a whole lifetime…”

The Bluest Eye –  This one changed my perspective on everything. It made me think about how we treat people knowingly, and unknowingly and reminded me to always treat people the way you want to be treated. And Toni Morrison has a way of making you question Love. Very thankful for this one!

Fav Quote: “Love is never any better than the lover. Wicked people love wickedly, violent people love violently, weak people love weakly, stupid people love stupidly, but the love of a free man is never safe.

Twilight – I honestly hate this book now. But I’m thankful for it, it was the book that made me a reader and though I hate it, I will always love it.

Fav Quote: “I like the night. Without the dark, we’d never see the stars.”

What books are you thankful for?

sam-signature

Talk to me!

