Review: Omens by Kelley Armstrong


16101040

486 pages
My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis: 

Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions.

But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens.

Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past.

Aided by her mother’s former lawyer, Gabriel Walsh, Olivia focuses on the Larsens’ last crime, the one her birth mother swears will prove their innocence. But as she and Gabriel start investigating the case, Olivia finds herself drawing on abilities that have remained hidden since her childhood, gifts that make her both a valuable addition to Cainsville and deeply vulnerable to unknown enemies. Because there are darker secrets behind her new home and powers lurking in the shadows that have their own plans for her.

My Thoughts: 

Hands down my favorite book I’ve read this year, so far! I have so many questions and all I want to do is start the second one right now!

I will admit that I expected there to be a more blatant paranormal aspect, but in this one it’s subtle, so subtle you’ll miss it if you’re not paying attention. In the beginning Armstrong prefaces the book by saying that there are clues sprinkled all throughout the book, and it’s through these clues that you’re actually able to see the paranormal aspects. Though I’ve been told that the in the other books the paranormal aspect becomes more pronounced and I’m looking forward to this because I have so many questions and I’m dying to get some answers!

I really loved all the characters, even the little side characters that roam the streets of Cainsville and pop up every once in awhile. I personally loved Olivia’s character, though I know some people find her to be rude and think she whines to much. But I think she has a reason to be rude at times, and the book takes place over a span of two weeks or so and this chick’s life was turned upside down and inside out so I think it’s reasonable and REALISTIC that she didn’t go around acting like everything was rainbows and sunshine. She doesn’t spend the whole book whining and honestly in my opinion I don’t think she whined at all, she was doing what she thinks is best for her and the people she loves, & I think she’s pretty kickass!

Gabriel Walsh is perfection. I love him. I want to give him a hug. I want to tell him a secret I found out that he apparently doesn’t even know about (neither does Olivia, btw) I want him and Olivia to be bffs or start dating, or whatever. I want to learn more about him, he’s an enigma.

Other characters I want to know more about: Patrick, Rose, Veronica, Patrick, The Huntsman, Ricky, & PATRICK. Just to name a few. Also, did I mention that I want to learn more about Patrick? He’s kind of a mystery and I need to know more.

The world and mystery in this book is very entertaining and engaging and gives you about the same amount of questions as answers and makes you want to know every secret that Cainsville has.

sam-signature

2 comments

Talk to me!

