Posted in 2016

Top Ten Books I Read in 2016


Happy New Year everybody! I hope everybody had a great holiday. Today I will be sharing my top ten favorite books that I read last year. In 2016 I only read 21 books, not including the books that I have yet to finish. Because of work and school I found it kinda hard to find the time to read, but I have say the books that I did read I loved! I won’t be going to in depth about the books on my list because reviews of them will be coming soon!

  1. Bluets by Maggie Nelson – This is definitely an interesting book. It’s all about the author’s journey of how she fell in love with the color blue.  that even though I loved it dearly I often found it weird. It was also one of the shortest books I read last year at only 95 pages, but it felt so much longer than that.
  2. The Bones Below by Sierra DeMulder – This is a collection of poetry. I often find it hard to review poetry, because I just get caught up in how it made me feel and the emotions it brought out in me. The Bones Below is an amazing collection, filled to the brim with beautiful, heartbreaking, and relatable poems.
  3. The Cainsville Series books 1 & 2 – I’ve already posted a review for book 1 Omens, and the review for book 2 will be up on Thursday! So click here to see how I felt about Omens
  4. The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 2 & 3 –  I have a lot of opinions about these series that I can’t sum up and a couple of sentences. But I just have to say, READ IT!
  5. Salt by Nayyirah Waheed –  This book touched my soul. I don’t know how to explain that.
  6. The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie – This was the first short story collection I’ve ever read, and it did not disappoint! I can understand why some people might not like this book, there are no happy endings, the humor is often times morbid, and addiction is prevalent through just about every story; just to name a few reasons. I but truly enjoyed them, and one made me cry my eyes out.
  7. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison –  This is Toni Morrison’s first novel, and it definitely shows. It’s choppy, sad, disturbing, the writing style was weird, but I loved every second of it.
  8. Preparing My Daughter For Rain:: notes on how to heal and survive. By Key Ballah – Just read it. I recommend it to everyone!
  9. Robin: Son of Batman, Volume 1: Year of Blood by Patrick Gleason – The emotions I have for this trade is incomprehensible. He’s batman’s son, he used to be evil, he still has baby teeth.
  10. Midnighter, Vol. 1: Out by Steve Orlando –  SO MANY FEELS! Review will be up next week so if you’re interested stay tuned.

sam-signature

Talk to me!

