Blog Tour: Wintersong By S. Jae-Jones w/Excerpt


WintersongWintersong by S. Jae-Jones

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ugh! This book!!! The Feels!!

I have to say that my body went through every emotion while reading this book! I started off as nervous and by the end, I was crying!

I really loved this story line! Elisabeth is the oldest daughter of a poor family whom always is looking out for everyone else but herself. She helped her brother become a violin prodigy and basically gave up on the one person whom she had always had an attraction to her sister to marry. She feels lonely and like the ugly duckling of her family. One day she meets The Goblin King and she still fights to save her sister. But he is not all that he appears to be.

My favorite character was Constanze, Elisabeth’s crazy grandmother! She always talked in riddles and the family just entertained her craziness as long as it was convenient. She was a hoot!

The ending…ugh! Get your tissues ready cuz this one will leave you crying:-( I felt for Elisabeth and Aric. I am not sure if this is a stand alone but I am really hoping that we will get to see more of these characters in the future!!

Thanks to the publisher for the review copy! It was superb! Definitely 5 stars!!

View all my reviews

Excerpt

Overture

      Once there was a little girl who played her music for a little boy in the wood. She was small and dark, he was tall and fair, and the two of them made a fancy pair as they danced together, dancing to the music the little girl heard in her head.
     Her grand mother had told her to beware the wolves that prowled in the wood, but the little girl knew the little boy was not dangerous, even if he was the king of the goblins.
     Will you marry me, Elisabeth? the little boy asked, and the little girl did not won der at how he knew her name.
     Oh, she replied, but I am too young to marry.
     Then I will wait, the little boy said. I will wait as long as you remember.
     And the little girl laughed as she danced with the Goblin King, the little boy who was always just a little older, a little out of reach.
     As the seasons turned and the years passed, the little girl grew older but the Goblin King remained the same. She washed the dishes, cleaned the floors, brushed her sister’s hair, yet still ran to the forest to meet her old friend in the grove. Their games were different now, truth and forfeit and challenges and dares.
     Will you marry me, Elisabeth? the little boy asked, and the little girl did not yet understand his question was not part of a game.
     Oh, she replied, but you have not yet won my hand.
     Then I will win, the little boy said. I will win until you surrender.
     And the little girl laughed as she played against the Goblin King, losing every hand and every round.
     Winter turned to spring, spring to summer, summer into autumn, autumn back into winter, but each turning of the year grew harder and harder as the little girl grew up while the Goblin King remained the same. She washed the dishes, cleaned the floors, brushed her sister’s hair, soothed her brother’s fears, hid her father’s purse, counted the coins, and no longer went into the woods to see her old friend.
     Will you marry me, Elisabeth? the Goblin King asked.
     But the little girl did not reply.
wintersong_glossary_final
heather
Talk to me!

