Review: Bluets by Maggie Nelson


6798263

My Rating: 5 of 5 Stars

Synopsis:

Suppose I were to begin by saying that I had fallen in love with a color…

A lyrical, philosophical, and often explicit exploration of personal suffering and the limitations of vision and love, as refracted through the color blue. With Bluets, Maggie Nelson has entered the pantheon of brilliant lyric essayists.

Maggie Nelson is the author of numerous books of poetry and nonfiction, including Something Bright, Then Holes (Soft Skull Press, 2007) and Women, the New York School, and Other True Abstractions (University of Iowa Press, 2007). She lives in Los Angeles and teaches at the California Institute of the Arts.

My Thoughts:

It took me forever to read this book. It took me almost a year to finish this book, and it’s tiny. It’s only 95 pages but to me It read and felt as if I was reading a book that was well over a thousand pages, and that’s a good thing! This book gave me so many things to consider, to love, to learn, to understand and relate to! It was an experience.  A weird, sad, relatable, thought provoking experience and I enjoyed every single second of it. I wish I could forget everything about this book, just so I could I have that experience again.

It’s safe to say that I will never look at the color blue the same way again. Honestly, I will probably happen across a blue object and wonder what this color means to someone else. This is definitely a book about blue; you will come across the history of blue and hear about other people’s experience with blue. But It’s not just about the color of blue.  It’s about pain, sadness, loss, regret, happiness. ’s not so much about blue the color, but blue the feeling.

This book is a raw & obsessive look about falling in love with the color blue, and that might sound weird, but if you read this book you might just fall in love with blue yourself.

sam-signature

 

Talk to me!

