Posted in 2016

Hal Jordan & the Green Lantern Corps, Volume 1: Sinestro’s Law


31223739

 Robert Venditti &  Ethan Van Sciver

Paperback, Trade, 152 pages
Published February 14th 2017 by DC Comics
Rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:

A part of DC Universe: Rebirth!

Hal Jordan is about to go from the head of the Green Lantern Corps to an army of one. Jordan’s long, illustrious–and tumultuous–tenure with the Corps takes several hairpin turns. At lightspeed. Toward a black hole. In a blender!

For starters, the Green Lantern Corps has disappeared, and now Sinestro’s own Corps enforces his uniquely brutal brand of law and order in the universe. As a result, Jordan has no ring to sling, or Sector 2814 (a.k.a. Earth) to protect. (So more of the usual for Hal!)

Green Lantern veteran Robert Venditti teams up with Rafa Sandoval and Ethan Van Sciver to pilot Hal Jordan & the Green Lantern Corps, Vol. 1: Sinestro’s Law!

Collecting: Hal Jordan & the Green Lantern Corps 1-7, Rebirth

My Thoughts:

I LOVE GUY GARDNER!

guy

This is the one I love.
I have to say this now or this review will just be about how much I loved him.

More importantly than my all encompassing love of a certain redhead, I have never read anything about the Green lanterns. My only experience being the horrible movie.

That being said, I wasn’t confused. Definitely there was a lot I didn’t really understand, but that didn’t dampen my reading experience at all because I loved this! I wouldn’t say that this is the perfect starting point but new readers can start here with minimal fuss, but some background reading will definitely make this better.

I was able to read and enjoy this trade with any prior knowledge and now I want to read the previous run, which it exactly what rebirth is supposed to do, you know in theory.

Anyway I really enjoyed the story and the characters. I spent the whole trade rooting for the green lanterns and wondering what the hell was going to happen next, cheering for Hal and also worrying if he was going to blow himself up, and wanting to slap Sinestro.

In short I had a great time, and I’m excited to see what happens next and hoping that there is even more Guy Gardner. Also, the artwork and colors were amazing! There were some stunning panels in this trade!

sam-signature

 

Talk to me!

