Mini Reviews: Hugo Cabret & This Is Where I Leave You


Hello everyone!

Sorry I went MIA on you guys, but the end of the semester was a killer, and I was swamped with papers, exams, projects, presentations, and then finals week. I was lucky to make it out alive and when it was all said and done, I slept for like a week straight.

Anyhow, I’m back! I haven’t been reading much but I have a couple of reviews coming your way and other cool things!

For today I have some mini reviews for you guys, these books were okay but they weren’t my favorite, and so I don’t have a lot to say about them. Click the pictures to be taken to a goodreads page if you want more info on the books.

 

。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆

9673436I really don’t like this book.

I mean the artwork was gorgeous & the structure of the book is amazing. I love that this book is told in both in prose and pictures. The pictures are what make this book worth the read.

But the story and characters are pretty freaking bad. Hugo is in my opinion an unlikable character, and he really annoyed me. The other main character Isabelle  is pretty bratty but,  I didn’t hate her. When together Hugo and Isabelle is a volatile, annoying, stubborn mix.

I expected something better, and what I got was something that was pretty boring. I read it pretty much in one sitting, and I had only 120 pages felt (majority of that is just pictures) and I just couldn’t finish it, I didn’t care!

While the pictures are amazing and I really enjoyed that part, I wish the whole book was pictures only because the writing was subpar. 2 stars

。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆。・:*:・゚★,。・:*:・゚☆

7549393

I’m giving up on this book.

I started it January 13th 2016

It has sat unread for over a year, and I just don’t see myself going back to finish it, at least not anytime soon.

Though I have chosen to leave this book unfinished, what I did read wasn’t bad.

I really enjoyed the family dynamic and I loved Judd’s character. He was this hopeless romantic, who is just down on his luck, and being in his head was entertaining. Sad, but entertaining nonetheless. I spent majority of this book wanting to fight everybody who did Judd wrong, and then wanting to give him a hug.

Phillip pissed me off, I was rooting for him and then he just disappointed me. He was the youngest child and I had high hopes for him, he was my favorite sibling before he went and made me hate him. What I enjoyed about this book is that each and every character is facing their own battle. Everyone is a little sad, a little broken, a little angry, but all trying to cope, move on, or just accept it. Their flawed but loveable, accept Jen. Jen is horrible.

Also, I know there was supposed to be this big twist, it was so freaking obvious! I saw it from the get, but I loved the way it was handled. Though it was an obvious twist it was an interesting twist. 3 stars

 

Happy Reading!

sam-signature

Talk to me!

