Posted in 2016, Review

Review: Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult


12283261

Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer
Hardcover, 353 pages
Published June 26th 2012 
Simon Pulse Simon Schuster 
My Rating: 2/5

Synopsis:

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.
And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.
A romantic and charming story, this companion novel to Off the Page will make every reader believe in the fantastical power of fairy tales.

My Thoughts:

Jodi Picoult has the way to write a book that will still have you thinking about it years after reading it, but with her first YA book I can honestly say I will forget about this book and its characters way before the month has passed. Between the Lines tells two stories, the story of Delilah a lonely 15-year-old, and the fairy tale book she is obsessed with.

I went into this expecting nothing but quality characters and plot just like in any other book Picoult has written, but Between the Lines fell short. Everything about this book felt like a cliche that was reimagined. Here we have Delilah, a fifteen-year-old high school freshman who doesn’t really fit in so she escapes whenever she can into books, except instead of the usual YA books, she’s reading a book marketed for children. It doesn’t take long until Delilah is so mesmerized with the book that she can’t stop reading it, she reads it over and over until she has memorized the entire book, and then one day the Prince in the story talks to her.

Inside of the book there is, Prince Oliver who is desperate to get out of the story and live in the real world with Delilah, to live a life that he has control over, a life the goes beyond the last page of his book. I found Oliver to be an interesting character because we get to see two different sides of him; Oliver the actor, and Oliver the boy who is desperate to be a real person, and live his life with Delilah. An aspect of this book that I hated the most was the insta-love. Maybe it’s just me but I hate when characters fall in love with each other before the book even really starts. For me to really enjoy a relationship, I want to see as it develops throughout the book, not them being madly love within a few chapters. It was because of the insta-love that I found myself not caring about their romance, but also the entire book was very predictable.

The predictability of this book was so annoying, especially since Picoult is the queen of twists and turns and misdirection, so to read a book of hers that I could see exactly what was going before it happens annoyed me and made me feel like I was wasting my time. I guess I went into this book expecting it to be like any other Picoult book, and that it would leave me mesmerized, thinking about how amazing it was after I read the last page. But this one just left me staring at it and thinking it was okay, nothing special.

Ultimately, this is just a story about two unhappy kids who want to be together, and are willing to go to great lengths make that happen. The twist here is that one is flesh and blood and the other is ink and paper, and while that twist should set this book apart from any other book, it really doesn’t.

sam-signature

 

 

Talk to me!

