Review: Unchosen by Katharyn Blair

Expected publication: January 26th 2021 by Katherine Tegen Books

Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying curse, swoon-worthy sea captains, and the power of one girl to choose her own fate in this contemporary standalone adventure that’s perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and Seafire, and for anyone who has ever felt unchosen.

For Charlotte Holloway, the world ended twice.

The first was when her childhood crush, Dean, fell in love—with her older sister.

The second was when the Crimson, a curse spread through eye contact, turned the majority of humanity into flesh-eating monsters.

Neither end of the world changed Charlotte. She’s still in the shadows of her siblings. Her popular older sister, Harlow, now commands forces of survivors. And her talented younger sister, Vanessa, is the Chosen One—who, legend has it, can end the curse.

When their settlement is raided by those seeking the Chosen One, Charlotte makes a reckless decision to save Vanessa: she takes her place as prisoner.

The word spreads across the seven seas—the Chosen One has been found.

But when Dean’s life is threatened and a resistance looms on the horizon, the lie keeping Charlotte alive begins to unravel. She’ll have to break free, forge new bonds, and choose her own destiny if she has any hope of saving her sisters, her love, and maybe even the world.

Because sometimes the end is just a new beginning.

My Thoughts

Here is what grabbed my attention right off the bat:

  • Flesh eating monsters
  • A curse
  • Childhood crush falling for the older sister

The beginning of this book did not grip me. I had to keep reading to really get into it. I was confused and it seemed that so much was happening quickly. We were getting too much information thrown at us in a rapid speed that it was hard to keep up but there was just something about the characters that kept me forging on.

The premise is that this virus which is called crimson, can be contracted through eye contact. There are varying degrees of the disease and it seems that there are also ways that you can actually get rid of it and give the worst of it to someone else. The three sisters lost their parents and are left to fend for themselves.

Can you say girl power?

The siblings are what kept me reading. You have the oldest, Harlow, whom is all kinds of kick assery. She has become a military leader and the head of their little family. What she says goes, no questions asked. Vanessa, the youngest, is a gymnast and the “chosen one”. She has the power to end the virus and is to be kept safe at all times. This leaves us with Charlotte, the middle child, whom is just Charlotte. She hasn’t really found her place and kind of feels like a third wheel in their little family. This is until the day comes that the “smart” zombies come knocking on their door to retrieve the chosen one. Charlotte pretends that she is the chosen one to save her sister and this sends her on a path of fearlessness and learning how strong and capable she really is. I really enjoyed the sisters dynamic. The fact that no matter what happened or how frustrated they got with each other, they always had each others back.

What I enjoyed:

  • This was a very different take on flesh eating monsters. They were not your typical zombies. They were smart and had varying degrees of the disease. It was very unique and the fact that the disease spread through eye contact. Most zombies have to be bitten, so this was refreshing.
  • The romance. It was a slow simmer filled with all kinds of angst. It was not your typical love at first sight. I adored this and felt that the characters grew throughout the book, not just jumping in full throttle.
  • The heroine. I really liked Charlotte as a character. I enjoyed growing with her throughout the book. She starts off young and naïve and I feel like we get to watch her blossom right before our very eyes.
  • A complete story. This is a stand alone and it is great getting a whole story in one wrapped up book. Most books these days consist of series and I very much want to search out others like this in my preferred genres.

Even though this book started off slow and confusing, it did not take me long to catch up. It was very fast paced and I was entertained throughout. Never a dull moment and I, in the end, loved it so very much!


Are you looking forward to this book? Have you read it?

What is your favorite zombie read?

2 thoughts on “Review: Unchosen by Katharyn Blair

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s