Posted in 2014, February

Divergent Read-A-Long Week 2 & Eleanor & Park Review!


Divergent Button

Welcome back to Week 2!

This week we have read chapters 11-20 of Divergent and sooo much happens!

So when we left you hanging last week, Peter and Tris had just been in the ring together to fight and Tris literally got the crap beat out of her! We didn’t really discuss much about this but, I wondered what all of your thoughts were on the two being matched up together? Was it a fair fight? 

My thoughts are that obviously it wasn’t. I was a little giddy when Four walked out of the room, that just showed me that he was not in agreement with the arrangement and it was all Eric!

Speaking of, please tell me your thoughts on Eric. We discussed Peter a little last week and everyone seemed to be in agreement that we despised him. So, what about our Dauntless Leader, Eric?

At this point for me, I am not sure whom I hate more? Eric or Peter. Peter believes that he has a right to just be Dauntless because he is so tough. But Eric, he enjoys the power and I HATE when he throws it in front of Four’s face. It is very irritating. The part when he wanted Al to go get the knives when everyone was still throwing was rough. I so very much envied Tris at that moment for being so brave! I would have peed myself!

Let’s talk about Four! *la swoon* Love him, Like him or Hate him??

Of course, I am really starting to love him! He kind of is a man of few words, but you are able to read him through his actions and from what I am seeing…he has a thing for Tris alright!!! Whoop Whoop!!

Whom are your favorite characters this week?

I am really crushing on Will!

“What did you do, memorize a map of the city for fun?” says Christina.
“Yes,” says Will, looking puzzled. “Didn’t you?”

He is like the best guy friend you will ever have:) And, I may have a small thing for Uriah! Just because he was so nice to Tris and invited her along on the outing with them. I sometimes wonder if Uriah doesn’t have a thing for Tris too?

Are you still enjoying the book? As much or less as last week?

I am really still finding it hard to stop at the end of the chapter. I am trying REALLY hard not to read ahead!

Don’t forget to leave a comment with either a link to your blog or just tell us your thoughts about this week or even last week if you are trying to catch up. THEN, go enter to win the giveaway!

*Remember*

All entries will be checked and you must participate by leaving a comment or posting on your blog to enter the Read-A-Long sections of the giveaway!

Next week: Chapters 21-30! Happy reading:)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Design G

The following review may contain spoilers!

You have been warned!!

imageEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Published February 26, 2013 by St. Martin’s Press

328 Pages

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

My Thoughts

I hope that everyone does not hate me after I say this because I know how much hype has flown around about this book but, I was not a big fan:(

This review is going to be short, sweet and to the point.

I didn’t identify with the characters. At times, I felt they were really strange. Park wanted to wear makeup and secretly wondered if he was gay. Eleanor was really awkward and the conversations sometimes were hard for me to keep track of and understand.

Now, I know that you are all going to think it was due to the 80’s references BUT, I AM a child of the 80’s and totally got all of the references. Which was one of the few things that I really enjoyed with this book.

The ending really stupefied me. It just seemed to end…just like that! I kind of think that I know what happened but I was still left confused.

Honestly, the only reason that I kept reading was to find out what actually happens with Eleanor and her stepfather and to see if they got caught sneaking to see each other.

I know that there are plenty of people who enjoyed this book, I just happen to not be one of them. Will this deter me from reading another book written by this author???

Absolutely Not!

I can’t wait to get my hands on Fangirl! hopefully I will enjoy that one more!

2 stars

h. Lee

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “Divergent Read-A-Long Week 2 & Eleanor & Park Review!

  1. The fight was definitely NOT fair!! Also, Eric is about as jerky as Peter. I still don’t know how a human could be that… horrid. And I don’t like Four; I LOVE HIM!! And I agree; I love Christina and Will; my favorite sub-characters C: And I love this book! Awesome!!

    Like

Talk to me!

