Posted in Uncategorized

Review: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey




Find on Goodreads.

Published May 7, 2013 by Putnam Juvenile
The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.
Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.



*******************************************

Review:

This book is fast-paced. There are a lot of flashbacks from Cassie to show how this destruction began, and normally those are tiresome for me, and while it didn't make me want to inhale the book, it did keep my attention.

The characters were awesome and soo strong! The POV changed multiple times, and for the most part I loved it, but there was one part where I had to drag myself through (but it only lasted for about 20 pages, and most people would love it) because of the POV we were on.

Great writing, strong characters, a great idea.. what could go wrong? For once, nothing. Nothing at all.

In Heather's review she mentions that this book would easily take you out of a reading slump. Funny, it really did for me! I've been feeling super uninspired lately, and this book is so.. fresh it practically yanked me out of that slump. :)

This book gave me all these.. feelings. *sighs contently*

It isn't jumping in my Favorites line, but it was definitely fast and thrilling!

4

P.S.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey

    1. It’s definitely popular right now. 🙂 I’ve only seen one negative review from the blogs I follow, but soo many positive ones!
      If you read it, let me know what you think! 🙂

      Like

    1. Yep, aliens! I haven’t read many alien books (the only alien book I’ve read that I can remember is the one by Diana Rowland), but I’m definitely getting into them since “Warm Bodies”.

      I’ve really been wanting to read “In the After”, and I should be getting my copy in any day. Glad you’re liking it! 🙂

      Like

Talk to me!

